University Malaya

by | Jan 28, 2019

57 / 100

University Malaya, the first university of the country, is situated on a 750-acre (309-hectare) campus in the southwest of Kuala Lumpur, the capital city of Malaysia. The University of Malaya grew out of a tradition of service to society. Its predecessors, the King Edward VII College of Medicine established in 1905 and Raffles College in 1929, has been established to meet urgent demands, one in medicine and the other in education.

When the two came together to form the University of Malaya in October 1949, this was so that they might perform together an even greater service – to help lay the foundations of a new nation by producing a generation of skilled and educated men. Hence the University of Malaya was established on 8 October 1949 as a national institution to serve the higher education needs of the Federation of Malaya and Singapore. The growth of the University was very rapid during the first decade of its establishment and this resulted in the setting up of two autonomous Divisions in 1959, one located in Singapore and the other in Kuala Lumpur. In 1960, the government of the two territories indicated their desire to change the status of the Divisions into that of a national university. The legislation was passed in 1961 founding the University of Malaya on 1st January 1962. The University motto,

Did you know the University of Malaya has its roots in Singapore? Established in 1949 as the King Edward VII College of Medicine, rapid growth led to a second university set up in Kuala Lumpur in January 1959. They became two autonomous national universities, one located in Singapore (National University of Singapore) and the other in Kuala Lumpur (University of Malaya).  UM was officially established on 1 January 1962.

Today, it has more than 2,500 faculty members. In 2012, UM was granted autonomy status by the Ministry of Higher Education.

The university is divided into 12 faculties, 2 academies, and 3 Centres, namely:

  • Faculty of Law, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Built Environment, Faculty of Economics and Administration, Faculty of Business and Accountancy, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Languages and Linguistics, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology. 
  • Academy of Malay Studies,
  • Academy of Islamic Studies,
  • Cultural Centre,
  • Sports Centre
  • Centre for Foundation Studies.

Follow Along

Sign up here to receive occasional emails to let you know about our updates and special offers.

We take pride in ensuring we treat your personal details with the utmost care, and never sell them to other companies for marketing purposes – you can check our privacy policy here.

Register as Education Consultant

Give the students the best chance to find the right course and university with access to 1,000+ schools & courses.

Become a university partner

Expand Your International reach and get approached by students from around the world with

Ready to get started?

Get in touch, or create an account

Share This